new year, new plans.

Happy new year! 

It’s been quite some time since I last blogged. School really got the best of me this past semester. I was constantly working on homework or projects. But guess what? It’s all over now! I graduated on 15 December with a Bachelor of Arts in Studio Arts and a minor in English. The job hunt is on.

Since then, I’ve been doing my freelance editing job, celebrating Christmas with family, and crocheting like a madwoman. Willy and I went to a fun New Year’s Eve party at a Doubletree hotel in Columbia. It was nice. Half low-key and half awesome party.

Image

 

We had a nice New Year’s Day too. We had lunch with friends, went to the Columbia Museum of Art (I’d been wanting to see the Rothko exhibit “1940-1950: The Decisive Decade”), stopped by an antique store, and swung by Mom & Dad’s house for Hoppin’ John on our way home. If you’re not from the south, you probably have no idea of what I’m talking about. Hoppin’ John is basically a bowl of rice and black-eyed peas, usually seasoned with some type of pork fat (bacon, ham, whatever). It’s supposed to bring luck and fortune for the new year. Most people add collard greens to represent money as well.  As these are some of my favorite foods (I love all greens!), i gladly partake. 😉

So, as I’ve probably mentioned before, I don’t really do resolutions. But I do make mental (or sometimes written) lists of plans or goals for the year. I thought I’d share them here, since one goal includes plans for this blog. To quote from Pirates of the Caribbeanthey’re more like guidelines, really. I spent the last year stressing over the goals I set for my last semesters of school, so I’m taking things lightly in general for 2013. 

Guidelines for 2013:

*Find a job.

*Blog more—at least twice a week.

*Get back on track with Weight Watchers. I fell out of the habit of putting my points in, and then I (along with most of the country) ate way too much junk food for the month of December. Addendum: Get back on track with Zumba, too.

*Read a chapter from classic literature each day. The best part of being finished with school is being able to read whatever the heck I want! My parents’ pastor & his wife gave me a gift card to Barnes & Noble. I cannot wait to spend it! My to-read list is so long. Anyway, along with reading the fun books I want to read, I’m going to add at least one chapter of a classic each day. I just started Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables last night. I’ve always wanted to read it (along with quite a few other classic titles), but we just saw the movie last week, which spurred me into *really* wanting to read it. We’re also going to see the show in February!

*Read one book per week. I’m not too sure how easy this will be, because I’m a slow reader who likes to bask in details and narrative voice. Speaking of that, I’m editing a manuscript right now that has an EXCELLENT narrative voice. 🙂 It makes my job pretty easy when it’s something I’m interested in reading further. I just finished the first two Narnia books, and the next one on my list is In the Bag, a book I just picked up on a whim at Target last summer. It looks cute. I also need to finally finish On the RoadAfter that will be The Perks of Being a WallflowerThen The Night CircusJust to name a few. By the way, The Night Circus was born out of NaNoWriMo! Neat, huh?

*Don’t let painting and drawing fall by the wayside! 

*List crochet items in my Etsy shop.

*Find an awesome deal for our trip to Europe in May!!

*Finally get our wood floors put in!

That’s about all I can take for now. LOL. I’m sure more stuff will crop up. We have a few trips planned for 2013. We want to try to make it to Texas during Willy’s spring break. Then there’s our tenth anniversary trip to Paris and London. And we think our annual Disney trip will be during the second week of December this year. That way, it’s not crowded, but it’s all decorated for Christmas.

Now to get started with those plans…

I wish you a happy, prosperous, and peaceful new year! What are your plans for 2013? 

Image

Leave a Reply

