out of the zone.

this semester has made me very anxious so far. most of my hesitance lies in my arts 118 class, where we have to speak in each class and give a presentation during the semester. for someone with an anxiety disorder, this is a huge obstacle. you might think it would be easy to just say, “okay, self. just shut up and do it.” but it’s not that simple when you have a legitimate issue with anxiety. there have been many times when i’ve had something to say during this class, but as soon as i start to plan it out in my head, my heart starts to pound, my breathing speeds up, and i start to shake. the beginnings of a panic attack. it sucks big time, because i know that what i say will contribute a good point to the conversation. it’s a reflex. it’s not easy to just push myself through it. but sometimes i have to. of course it almost always turns out okay in the end, but getting to the end is difficult.

anyway, i only wrote all that to explain how i’m trying to step outside of my comfort zone in other areas this semester. last night, i dragged my friend chelsea to the semester’s first meeting of the visual arts club. i was iffy about it at first. but once everyone started tossing around ideas about what activities to plan, things starting to sound more appealing. we’re going to have tutorials and fundraisers and some community outreach projects. i think it’s going to be fun, and hopefully i’ll get to make some new friends.

the club has a student run gallery, and they’re asking for submissions for the first show of the year. the student gallery consists of the walls on the first floor of the cato/simons center, which make contains the studio arts, theatre, and music departments. after seeing previous works that have been featured there, i don’t honestly expect to be chosen, but i want to submit something anyway. you never know until you try, right? or as my papaw says, “can’t never could do nothin’.”  heh heh. even if my works is not chosen to be hung on the walls, it could still be featured on the visual arts club’s website.

so here are the ones that i’m considering submitting for consideration. it would be awesome if you would vote for your favorite, or the one that you think would be most likely to be considered, that would be so great. the titles are tentative. i’ve never been great at coming up with titles. you’re welcome to suggest alternatives. i’m still a newbie at this, remember…

1.

Natural Selection, 2011 dimensions: 16x20

 

2.

Obstruction, 2011 dim: 8x16

 

3.

West Fall, 2011 dim: 12x16

 

any suggestions? thanks.  🙂

12 comments

    1. that’s the one that i was leaning toward. do you like the title? when i finished painting it, i saw a series of buildings collapsing. but i also think it looks kind of like an abstracted waterfall.

  1. Love them all! But, if I had to choose, I would rank them in this order:
    1. west fall
    2. natural selection
    3. obstruction

    Do you know The Clientele? The gray one reminds me of their songs, which sound like wintery, rainy days.

    1. i’m not sure if you have. it was the last one i did last semester. i like it too. i think it may be the one i end up submitting.

  2. Loved “West Fall,” Tiffany. Wish I had more free wall space so I could start collecting you…. but you’ve seen it here — and I don’t. Aw……! Keep up the great work! — Dick

Leave a comment